PDF Print Email

 Brownlee Leadership Award

 The John T. Brownlee Leadership Award is the Florida Association of Colleges & Employers' highest honor and is presented at the Annual Conference.

Congratulations to Matina Wagner,
our 2023 Brownlee Leadership Award recipient!
Matina Wagner


The John T. Brownlee Leadership Award was established by the Florida Association of Colleges & Employers (formerly known as FCPA) in recognition of John T. Brownlee’s contribution and tireless efforts on behalf of the organization.  


  • Nominee must be a FloridaACE member for at least three years
  • Current officers and board members are ineligible

Basis for Selection

  • Emphasis for selection will be placed on general contribution and support of FloridaACE, contribution to a specific FloridaACE program or project and/or professional contribution to the university recruiting and/or career services fields.
  • A nominee must be nominated by a current FloridaACE member.
  • Members of the selection committee are not eligible to nominate.

Nomination Procedure

  • Two letters of support are required
  • Submit an online nomination form (upload resume with the application)


The recipient of the John T. Brownlee Leadership Award is announced during the Recognition Luncheon at the Annual Conference in June. Recipients become Lifetime Members of FloridaACE and receive a crystal award.  


Past John T. Brownlee Leadership Award Recipients

2023 - Matina Wagner, Polk State College
2022 - Tara Stevenson, Flagler College

2021 - Sandi Ohman, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
2020 - Alicia Smyth, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University 
2019 - Jenifer Bennett, Enterprise Holdings
2018 - Tim Harding, University of Tampa
2017 - John Sheehy, Stetson University
2016 - Tracy Joinson, Palm Beach State College
2015 - Mark Colvenbach, The University of Tampa
2014 - Sheila Hood, The University of Tampa (Retired)
2013 - Robin Kazmarek, Stetson University
2012 - Ray Rogers, Rollins College
2011 - Dona Gaynor, Florida Institute of Technology
2010 - Mike Tooke, University of South Florida (Retired)
2009 - Jane Colson*, Eckerd College
2008 - Jeff Garis, Florida State University
2007 - Christy King, Seminole Community College (Retired)
2006 - James Watson, Jr., Florida Atlantic University
2005 - Jonathan Thornburg, Hughes Supply
2004 - Grady McClendon*, Webber International University
2003 - Anne Foote Collins, Office Depot
2002 - Myrna Hoover, Florida State University
2001 - Marsha Leap, Florida Southern College 
2000 - Scott Wilson, Electronic Data Systems
1999 - Rick Neely, Walt Disney World
1998 - Sherri Dressler, University of Central Florida
1997 - Ed Fleck, FBI (Retired)
1997 - Kate Ray, University of North Florida
1996 - Geri Moers, University of West Florida
1995 - Ray Thrift, University of West Florida
1994 - Kent Phillips, Walt Disney World (Retired)
1993 - Olga Magnusen*, Florida International University
1992 - Robert O'Neal*, Florida State University 
1991 - Carol Ann Boyles, University of North Florida (Retired)
1990 - Glenda Lentz*, University of South Florida
1989 - Manny Virata, Jr., NASA (Retired)
1988 - John Sherrill*, University of West Florida
1987 - Maurice Mayberry*, University of Florida
*Gone But Never Forgotten...to those members we've lost over the years.

Last Updated on Friday, May 03, 2024 11:20 AM